Showing off some classic cars

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

This 1947 Ford Coe, entered by Rick Abbott, of Waukon, was the winner in the truck category at the annual Great River Car Show and Cruise, held in McGregor on July 15. (Photos by Gary Howe)

Ken Meyer, of Castalia, shines up a 1955 Ford Crown Vic. The car, entered by Kim Meyer, took third place in the classic car category.

Randy Miller, of Elgin, shows off his 1964 Ford Falcon.

This 1956 Chevy Bel Air, entered by Ralph Livingston, of Garnavillo, placed second in the classic car category.

A total of 66 entrants participated in the car show.

Classic tunes and unique cars greeted attendees of the annual Great River Car Show and Cruise, held July 15, in McGregor.

A total of 66 entrants participated in the car show. Winners included:

Classic Car

Robert (Chopper) Thornton, McGregor, 1956 Chevy Handyman Wagon 

Ralph Livingston, Garnavillo, 1956 Chevy Bel Air 

Kim Meyer, Castalia, 1955 Ford Crown Vic

Antique Car

Erik Wedo, Waukon, 1949 Plymouth Special Deluxe 


Rick Abbott, Waukon, 1947 Ford COE 

Rich Reints, Clarksville, 2004 Chevy SSR

Special Interest

Jerry Steward, Cedar Falls, 1953 Chevy Bel Air

Bobby Slaughter, McGregor, custom-made pulling tractor

Derek Miller, Elgin, 1979 Ford F100

Muscle Car

Randy Pejchl, Monticello, 1970 Chevy Chevelle SS

Carson Palmer, Guttenberg, 1966 Pontiac GTO   

Tim Sautter, Luana, 1968 Olds Cutlass 

Street Rod

Scott Bucholtz, Weyauwega, Wis., 1938 Chevy Coupe

Randy Thornton, Marquette, 1936 Hudson Terraplane  

Doug Eischeid, Harpers Ferry, 1939 Chevy Master Deluxe

Late Model

Dan Fischer, Phillips, Wis., 1978 Chevy Camaro Z-28

Al Demmer, Dyersville, 1984 Buick Regal  

John Lewis, Delhi, 2009 Dodge Challenger 


Brad Jahnke, Prairie du Chien, 1964 Volkswagon Transporter

John Fassbinder, 1970 Mercedes 280SE

There were no sports car entries.

For the mayor’s choice awards, McGregor mayor Harold Brooks selected a 1966 Chevy  Chevelle entered by Galen Heineman, of Fairbank. Marquette mayor Larry Breuer chose a 1938 Chevy Coupe entered by Scott Bucholtz. of Weyauwega, Wis.

The “People’s Choice” award, which was selected by the public, went to the 1968 Olds Cutlass entered by Tim Sautter, of Luana.

The farthest entrant was Dan Fischer, who traveled 231 miles from Phillips, Wis.

The grand prize in the raffle—a three-hour cruise for up to 25 people on the Maiden Voyage—went to Beth Ware. Darci Jones won the first-place prize of a two-night stay at Maggie’s Bed and Beth. Second prize—a one-night stay at The Junction Cabin—was awarded to Chopper Thornton. Brooke Hackett won the third prize—two Casino Queen buffets.

Thirty-four total raffle prizes were handed out from various sponsors.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet