City elections are Nov. 7

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

Both the cities of Marquette and McGregor will have contested races in the city elections held Tuesday, Nov. 7.

In Marquette, six people are running for city council, which has just three seats up for grabs. 

All three incumbents—Steve Eagle, John Ries and Cindy Sharp Halvorson—are seeking re-election. Also running are David Schneider, Rinda Ferguson and Ryan P. Young. 

Marquette’s mayoral race will be contested, as well, with incumbent Larry Breuer challenged by Stephen J. Weipert.

Polls will be open at the Marquette Community Center from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

For those who would like to learn more about the candidates, a forum will be held Wednesday, Nov. 1, at 6:30 p.m., on the fourth floor of the Cobblestone Inn & Suites.

In McGregor, four people will vie for three seats on the city council. Those on the ballot include incumbents Charles Carroll, Janet Hallberg and Rogeta Halvorson, as well as newcomer Sally K. Schneider.

McGregor Mayor Harold Brooks will run unopposed.

Polls will be open at the McGregor Public Library from
7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In Monona, voters will have an opportunity to elect a brand new mayor, with Lynn Martinson running unopposed.

Heather Lange will be on the ballot to fill a vacancy on the council, one created by the resignation earlier this year of Randee Koenig.

Two other city council seats are also up for grabs, but no candidates filed papers to be placed on the ballot. However, Preston Landt, Doug Bachman and Tim Wright are running as write-in candidates.

Polls will be open at the Monona Community Center from noon to 8 p.m.

In Luana, mayor Jerry Schroeder will seek re-election, as will council members Brenda Boddicker and Paul L. Miller. Two seats are open on the council.

Polls will be open at Luana City Hall from noon to 8 p.m.

In Farmersburg, just one candidate, incumbent Ron Dennler, is on the ballot. Two seats are available. Mayor Glenn A. Radloff, running unopposed, is also seeking another term.

Polls will be open at the Farmersburg Community Center from noon to 8 p.m.

To view results the night of the election, please visit and the North Iowa Times Facebook page. Complete coverage will also be provided in the Nov. 15 edition of the North Iowa Times.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet